Brooke O'Harra

Credits: Prudence Katz

Brooke O'Harra (Director/Artist) is co-founder (with composer Brendan Connelly) of The Theater of a Two-headed Calf which was initiated in 2000. O'Harra has developed and directed all 14 of Two-headed Calf's productions including the OBIE Award winning Drum of the Waves of Horikawa (2007 HERE Arts Center), It Cannot Be Called Our Mother but Our Graves a.k.a Macbeth (Soho Rep Lab 2008/9), Trifles (Ontological Hysteric Incubator 2010), and the opera project You, My Mother (2012 at La Mama ETC, 2013 in the River to River Festival).

Brooke conceived, directed, wrote for, and performed in the Dyke Division of Two-headed Calf's live lesbian soap opera Room For Cream which ran for three full seasons (25 episodes) at La Mama, ETC in NYC between 2008-10. She was invited to Istanbul to create a version of that work with a collective of radical queer activists in Istanbul, Turkey, which premiered in conjunction with the opening of the Istanbul Biennial 2011.

Most recently Brooke produced and directed three evenings of the serial drama, And That's How the Rent Gets Paid by Jeff Weiss and Richard C. Martinez at The Kitchen, NYC in July, 2016.

Brooke is currently working on several projects. In June she will premier I'm Bleeding All Over the Place: A Living History Tour for two weeks in NYC at La Mama E.T.C. This is the fourth part of a nine part project titled  I am Bleeding All Over the Place: Studies in directing or nine encounters between me and you, which began in April 2014 while in residence at the New Museum. Brooke is also the co-creator of a collaborative performance with artist Sharon Hayes called Time Passes. Time Passes is an 8-hour performance that uses the book-on-tape recording of Virginia Woolf's To the Lighthouse as its spine.

Brooke is current recipient of the Doris Duke Impact Award for Theatre and her work has been supported by numerous awards, grants and residencies including several NYSCA grants, a Franklin Furnace performing artists award, an Arts Matters grant, the NEA/TCG Directors program, an OBIE award grant, a residency at The Performing Garage, and an LMCC space grant.